For investors

Let our regional advantages be your competitive edge!

With around 90 000 inhabitants, East-Belgium adjoins the borders of the Netherlands, Germany and the Grand-Duchy of Luxemburg. The region offers a series of advantages not found in such a convenient constellation elsewhere, advantages which can bring a competitive edge to any business considering either start-up, relocation or expansion:

1. Advantageous geographical position

Lying in the heart of northwestern Europe, your East-Belgian company site would be within 4 trucking hours of more than 40 million potential consumers. This represents roughly 20 % of the combined buying power of the expanded European Union.

This convenient geographical situation, with regard to such important European manufacturing, service and population centres as the cities of the Ruhr and Rhineland, Aachen, Liege, Brussels and Luxemburg, is a vital factor in the region’s economic life.

2. Excellent infrastructure

East-Belgium is connected directly with the pan-European motorway network via the E40 (Brussels-Liege-Cologne) and the E42 (Lille-Namur-Trier). Five airports, Europe’s second-largest freshwater port (Liege) as well as several major rail stations (with TGV connections) are within a brief journey’s reach. East-Belgium offers attractive, well connected Industrial and Commercial zones with available infrastructure to meet a wide variety of requirements
.

3. Multi-skilled, highly trained workforce

Thanks to a regional mandate for primary, secondary and higher education, as well as vocational training and employment issues, the relevant ministries in German-speaking East-Belgium are in close contact with the region’s commercial and industrial pulse. This results in speed and flexibility to meet changing or developing demands. To high-quality schooling may be added a diversity of further education opportunities: several universities and technical high schools, as well as a variety of academies, training centres, design, research and development institutes and industrial parks can be found in the surrounding area.

4. Multi-lingual population

East-Belgium lies on the junction of four language regions (German, French, Dutch and the Luxemburg dialect), which translates into a large proportion of the population being fluent or competent in various combinations of these, as well as having a sound working knowledge of English. The cultural identity of the region also serves as a positive vector for exchange and trade, combining aspects of both Germanic and Romanic cultural mentality.

5. Stable industrial relations

A sound consultative basis to industrial relations between employers and employees guarantees social stability while supporting economic advancement in East-Belgium.

6. High quality of life

The “in-between” geography of East-Belgium provides for fast and easy access to dense urban markets and industrial production areas both inland and abroad, yet without any of the disadvantages of actually having to live there.  The richly diverse and beautiful natural landscape of East-Belgium is matched by the variety of leisure and sporting activities available there all the year round, while a tradition of hospitality and superb gastronomy can only add to the charms of this already highly attractive region.

If we have whetted your appetite, please feel free to contact us for any further information you may require.

 

  >>

Die IHK Eupen-Malmedy-St. Vith und

ihre Premium Partner

Kabelwerk
Eupen AG

 

THG Group

THG group

 
ihre strukturellen Partner

Athlon

 

ENGIE -
Electrabel

     

Grenz-Echo
 

 

 

KAS Eupen

     

KBC
Bank & Versicherung

 

Securex
Sozialsekretariat

heißen Sie herzlich willkommen.


For Investors
Our regional advantages
go >>>

Thematische Dossiers
Informationen für die Betriebspraxis
mehr >>>

Unternehmertreffen
Die nächsten Termine
mehr >>>

Weiterbildung
Die nächsten Termine
mehr >>>

Exportsprechtage
Die nächsten Termine
mehr >>>

Interessenvertretung
und Trägerschaften
mehr >>>

Standortförderung

Promoting Eastbelgium worldwide
go >>>

Pour investisseurs

Nos atouts peuvent devenir les vôtres !

L´Est de la Belgique compte à peine 90 000 habitants, mais il partage ses frontières avec le Royaume des Pays-Bas, la République Fédérale d´Allemagne et le grand-duché de Luxembourg. Cette région présente comme aucune autre une série d´atouts susceptibles de renforcer la compétitivité des entreprises désireuses de s´y installer. 

1.  Situation géographique favorable

Situé au coeur de l´Europe, l´Est de la Belgique est à moins de quatre heures de camion de plus de 40 millions de consommateurs, soit 20% du pouvoir d´achat de l´Union européenne élargie.

La proximité immédiate en Europe de grandes agglomérations et de centres économiques importants, comme la Ruhr, Aix-la-Chapelle, Liège, Bruxelles et Luxembourg, constitue un facteur essentiel de la vie économique locale.

2. Infrastructure performante

L´Est de la Belgique est directement relié, par les autoroutes E40 (Bruxelles-Liège-Cologne) et E42 (Lille-Namur-Trèves), au réseau autoroutier européen. Cinq aéroports, le deuxième plus grand port intérieur d´Europe (Liège) et de nombreuses gares (avec connexion TGV) y sont accessibles en très peu de temps. La région offre des zones industrielles et commerciales attrayantes, aisément accessibles et répondant aux besoins les plus divers.

3. Formation polyvalente de haut niveau

Grâce à la communautarisation de l´enseignement, de la formation et de l´emploi, le législateur, dans la partie germanophone de la Belgique, est très proche de la vie économique, de sorte qu´il peut répondre de façon plus souple et plus rapide aux changements et aux besoins nouveaux.

D´une part, l´offre en matière d´enseignement, de formation et de formation continue y est très diversifiée et, d´autre part, la région se trouve à un jet de pierre de plusieurs universités, de nombreuses hautes écoles, de centres de formation et de compétences, d´instituts de recherche et de développement et de parcs scientifiques.

4. Population multilingue

L´Est de la Belgique se situe au carrefour de plusieurs régions linguistiques (allemand, français, néerlandais, luxembourgeois), de sorte qu´une majeure partie de la population maîtrise ces langues dans des combinaisons diverses, souvent associées à une solide connaissance de l´anglais. L´intercompréhension culturelle des habitants favorise également une façon de penser et d´agir "transfrontalière", car familière des mentalités des groupes culturels germaniques et romans.

5. Environnement social stable

Le consensus fondamental entre employeurs et travailleurs garantit la stabilité sociale et permet d´exercer des activités professionnelles rentables dans l´Est de la Belgique.

6. Qualité de vie élevée

La situation "à mi-chemin" caractéristique de l´Est de la Belgique permet de nouer, rapidement et de manière rentable, des relations avec les grandes agglomérations belges et étrangères, sans rencontrer les inconvénients liés à une installation dans une de ces agglomérations. Son paysage fascinant frappe par sa diversité et sa beauté. De nombreuses possibilités culturelles, sportives et de loisir, de même qu´une excellente gastronomie, complètent le tableau qualitatif de cette région hors du commun.

Intéressé(e) ? Prenez contact avec nous si vous souhaitez des compléments d´information.

 

  >>

Die IHK Eupen-Malmedy-St. Vith und

ihre Premium Partner

Kabelwerk
Eupen AG

 

THG Group

THG group

 
ihre strukturellen Partner

Athlon

 

Grenz-Echo
 

     

 

KAS Eupen

 

KBC
Bank & Versicherung

     

Securex
Sozialsekretariat

   

heißen Sie herzlich willkommen.


For Investors
Our regional advantages
go >>>

Thematische Dossiers
Informationen für die Betriebspraxis
mehr >>>

Unternehmertreffen
Die nächsten Termine
mehr >>>

Weiterbildung
Die nächsten Termine
mehr >>>

Exportsprechtage
Die nächsten Termine
mehr >>>

Interessenvertretung
und Trägerschaften
mehr >>>

Standortförderung

Promoting Eastbelgium worldwide
go >>>